Success, Failure, and that Ugly Comparison Demon! {Asheville, NC Boudoir Photographer.}

Sometimes, I see images of women that are SO beautiful. Beautiful enough to leave me feeling like anyone who ever looked at my face full of freckles couldn’t possibly see anything that would interest them. Or I see a girl wearing high waisted pants and looking GOOD in them! The looming doubt that comes with that can last for hours. The game of comparisons is a game that I’ve played very well.

Perusing the art of a photographer that I admire and in turn feeling like everything I’ve ever created might as well be covered in mud because that’s all I see when I look at it.

However silly those examples may seem to you, we all have our things.

Maybe there’s someone at work who just keeps doing so well that you don’t feel like you can keep up. Perhaps you’re shy and you know someone who can make new friends like it’s as easy as breathing.

Whatever our particular comparison demon may be, here’s the good news…

There’s plenty to go around! 

Plenty of everything. Someone else’s success does not equate our own failure. It doesn’t have to.

But, it can.

If I look at Jane Smith and think to myself, “There is no way I will ever be as good of a frisbee thrower as her. Well, then I never will be.

But, if I look at ‘ole JS and say, “How do you throw your frisbee like that?” Well, that’s an entirely different outcome now isn’t it?

The same goes for beauty which we can not change necessarily. But, I can’t think of a time where I’ve thought wow, that person is beautiful, but, that person is SO MUCH MORE beautiful.

Why is that?

Because there’s beauty that can be found in every single shape and form. Perhaps for Jane Smith it’s her bright eyes and shiny hair. But, for you it might be your lips and the way you hold yourself.

The thing that I hope we can all take away from this is the mere principal that we’re much better off celebrating the success of everyone instead of being threatened by it. There’s just so much to go around!

1

 

with love,

Sarajane.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Lipstick and Lace, Personal

One response to “Success, Failure, and that Ugly Comparison Demon! {Asheville, NC Boudoir Photographer.}

  1. Mary Wilson

    Refreshing point of view!

Leave a Reply

