On Being Strong and Vulnerable at the Same Time! {Asheville, NC Boudoir Photographer}

Taking pictures of women during their most intimate moments is often an interesting process. As a society it’s looked more favorably on when we demean ourselves  rather than being aware of the things we love. We’re taught from an early age to pick ourselves apart and compare ourselves to others. It’s the rare person that grows up speaking goodness into themselves. Rather, we say things to bring ourselves down. On top of that if someone is feeling great and looks great, it’s culturally acceptable to keep them from getting a ‘big head’ by not encouraging them further.

In no means am I advocating being narcissistic or egotistical. But, the fact-of-the-matter is most of us are FAR from that place. We’re all just pushing ourselves to feel good about ourselves day to day. I’ve often met with clients that I find flawless and they’re very often the ones that see the most flaws in themselves. If I could give you a pair of glasses that showed you the way others see you, trust me, I would!

But, I don’t have that. What I can do is tell you, show you through my images, and relate.

I’m far from what I think is ideal. Some days I feel on top of the world. But, other days I feel terrible. I speak awfully to myself and it’s not hard to do that. In fact, that comes much more naturally to me. There are three things that I’ve learned help me to feel good about myself regardless of the things I would like to pick apart!

1. Eating healthy!

Even if I don’t like the way I look, I know that I’m taking care of myself and putting thought into my life. That’s enough to put a pep in my step alone.

2. Working out!

When I’m working out I am aware of my body more than ever. Sometimes that’s hard but, the more I do it the more I celebrate it for what it is. Our bodies are magnificent vessels that are able to do SO much!  It also just naturally makes you happier {endorphins and all that.}

3. Celebrating the things I love about myself!

Taking the time to speak positively into myself makes a world of difference for me. If I’m able to look in the mirror and say that I love my hips and my waist then I can cultivate that mentality for the rest of my day!

I often ask my clients to share their pictures with you on the blog. To put themselves out there, to open themselves up for criticism, and to celebrate the beauty that is everything they are.

Today, I realized that I haven’t always done the same. A couple of lovely photographers photographed me this time last year. One of them did a lovely blog post about our time together and shared the images. It was liberating and terrifying for me at the same time.

But, I want to be as brave as you all are. To share my insecurities and to celebrate myself as I am now.

When it comes down to it, it’s the moments in which we are the most vulnerable that we are the strongest. It’s only better from here.

Screen Shot 2013-03-19 at 12.45.52 PM

with love,

Sarajane.

{Thanks Stephanie Stewart for the image. I love you!}

2 Comments

Filed under Lipstick and Lace

2 responses to “On Being Strong and Vulnerable at the Same Time! {Asheville, NC Boudoir Photographer}

  1. Katy

    A woman’s beauty is so much more than just the flaws we are told we have by society! The way a woman’s lips curl when she smiles, a simple curve from her waist to her thighs, and most importantly, the beauty she radiates from the inside…to me, that’s what being beautiful is really about!! Women’s differences really should be celebrated and not critiqued. By the way, BEAUTIFUL pic, Ms. Sarajane!!!

Leave a Reply

