Ask Sarajane: Time Management and My Notebook! {Asheville, NC Wedding and Boudoir Photographer}

I’ve talked about this before. But, things have changed for me lately. The last time I wrote on time management and my everyday schedule I was waking up at 5:30am everyday and working until who knows when. I’ve changed things up a bit to allow more creativity and relaxation into my life. Making those a priority, I believe, will be the difference in good and great art. While I truly believe we’re busy owners first and photographers second, I also have to let my creativity breathe. Correct?

sj (1 of 1)

So, here’s an updated schedule:

I wake when I wake. Typically this is somewhere between 6:00-7:00am.

I take my time to eat breakfast and pack a lunch for the day.

I go to my favorite coffee shop somewhere between 7:00-8:00am.

I’ve started having my coffee there. I used to drop in and pick it up on the way to the office, but, I found three things wrong with that.

1. I wouldn’t park as far away because I would inevitably spill coffee on myself if I walked with it for long enough.
2. I wasn’t taking time to enjoy the coffee itself. What’s the point of ingesting something that you’re not enjoying?
3. It started me off with a rushed feeling.

Now, for the first hour of work I’m simply planning out my day, enjoying my coffee, and reading books related to photography or business.

This has made all the difference! 

When I arrive to the office, I have a clear plan for the day, my mind is relaxed, and I’m geared up and ready to go. Not to mention I’m reading SO MUCH more about things that help my business!

Now, what do I plan during this time?

I focus on my notebook and my planner: {excuse the awful iphone pics}

photo-11

 

My planner is my life line. I focus mostly on the monthly sections here except for on wedding days where I write the entire timeline of the wedding on that day.

photo-13

 

Next, my notebook. I’ve talked about this before briefly, but, I’m gonna break it down for you!

In the beginning I have my list of things that need to be done at some point but not necessarily today…

I try to check one thing off of this list {at least} everyday.

photo-14

 

Not pictured: I also do lists for large projects. For Example: right now I’m working on re-branding. I have a giant list broken down for all of the steps of the re-branding process in my notebook. I try to knock 2-3 things off of that list a day!

Next, I have my daily lists. This is what I write in the morning.

I write the large to-do list at the top. This is whatever I didn’t finish the day before, my 1-2 things off my big list, my 2-3 things off my projects list, any meetings that I have, any errands that need to be run, etc.

THEN…

I have my “win the day” list. I write this at the bottom of the page. I choose the 5 most crucial tasks and write them in the order that want to accomplish them. If all I complete is this list that day, then I will have succeeded.

photo-16

 

Something I’m  finally coming to grips with is that the To-Do List will never end. There’s always going to be something that I need to do. The more I’m aware of that, the sooner I can accept that and move on. I will work hard during work hours and do the most that I can do with my time. But, I’m not superhuman and I can’t hold myself to those expectations…

I’m sounding well-balanced right? 😉 I’m a work in progress.

Another thing I use this notebook for is planning out my sessions.

photo-15

 

Lovely drawings? Basically, I break my sessions down by the minute and divide them into different segments. I create my poses ahead of time in my notebook. {Note: I don’t use pinterest for inspiration. I’m drawing out my old faithful poses and then racking my brain for more. I think Pinterest can stunt creativity and I’ll leave it at that.} After I’ve drawn up my session I will study it like I’m studying for a test. I’ll even close my eyes and try to repeat what I’ve got. This allows me to go into sessions with a clear plan and direction! Which I think is of the upmost importance!

Any questions, please write ’em in the comment box below!

with love and time management,

Sarajane.

1 Comment

Filed under Ask Sarajane, Personal

One response to “Ask Sarajane: Time Management and My Notebook! {Asheville, NC Wedding and Boudoir Photographer}

  1. Megan Huggins

    This is awesome Sarajane 🙂 thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

