Dear North Carolina Voters! {A Heartfelt Plee Against Amendment One.}

*I want to preface this by saying, I’m not full of facts, if you want article like that go here, I’m not necessarily the most eloquent for that go here, and I’m not coming from any particular religious perspective, for a Christian outlook, go here. I’m just writing what’s in my heart to you, my beautiful blog readers that know me and what I believe in.*

Dear North Carolina Voters,

Today you have the opportunity to change the progression of our state. Today when you go into vote, your ballot will have an amendment that reads as follows:

“The marriage between one man and one woman is the only domestic legal union that shall be valid or recognized in this state.”

It is my plee that you, as an informed citizen would vote AGAINST this amendment. I am coming to this conversation out of a place of deep concern and love for the families and couples that I care about. If we pass this amendment, it doesn’t only hurt same-sex couples, it hurts women and children too.

But, I want to address same-sex couples first. Why does our state feel the  need to pass further harmful legislation? Same-sex marriage is already ILLEGAL in our state! Voting against amendment one will not change that. A vote against amendment one isn’t a vote for same-sex marriage. It’s a vote to keep things as they are! However, even if it wasn’t. I would ask you to look deep inside yourself and ask how you will feel in 20  years when same-sex couples are no longer being discriminated against. When your children will mock this time in our history for being discriminatory the way we mock our history of segregation and women’s lack of rights. Do you want to look back and know that you voted to do further harm to a group of people who have done nothing except seek love?

I don’t know about you, but, the only thing I know to be true in life is the existence of love. Real love. I’ve felt it and I’ve given it and it’s a beautiful and life-changing thing. I could not, and will not deny that to another human being for as long as I live. I beg you for the same. Their love does not effect your ability to love in the least.

The second thing I want to talk about is the harmful wording of the amendment.

The original draft read as follows:

“Marriage is the union of one man and one woman. No other relationship shall be recognized as a valid MARRIAGE by the state.”

Woah! That language is vastly different from the language we are seeing now. The change in wording was not careless, it was calculated.

This change in wording keeps all un-married couples from the rights of domestic unions. What does that mean? One or all of these, are risks that we are facing with the amendment passing:

-Couples who are covered by each other’s health insurance will lose rights.
-Children will lose health insurance coverage if their parents are un-married.
-If a biological parent passes away, the non-married partner could lose rights to their children!
-Children with a loving parent could be put into an already crowded foster-care system!
-Women in abusive relationships will lose domestic violence protection!

These facts are realities. We’ve seen them happen in other states passing similar amendments.

I sit here today shaking with anticipation for what will happen in our state’s history. If we pass this amendment, the heart of so many of our citizens will sink. We will have taken away the right for people to make decisions of their own free will. I beg you, whether you are a democrat and believe in taking care of those who can’t take care of themselves, vote AGAINST! If you are a republican and believe in less big government, vote AGAINST!

This amendment is harmful to the economy of our beautiful state, it’s harmful to women, it’s harmful to children, and it’s harmful to my LGBT brothers and sisters that are only looking for equal rights under the law.

Search deep within your soul and ask if you as a person can honestly say you feel good about passing legislation that can hurt so many. An amendment that if it doesn’t pass, harms NO ONE, not even you. It changes nothing.

Please, stand up to our government today. Tell them they won’t distract us from the real issues in our state today. Make informed and heartfelt decisions!

If anyone has any questions feel free to e-mail me at sarajane.case@gmail.com

The polls are open until 7:30pm today!

This video is full of  information about the amendment.

Now, the last video I will post, is this video of Zachary Wahls. He is a citizen of Iowa who spoke to the Iowa House of Representatives about the same issues we are facing here.

with love and equality,

Sarajane.

1 Comment

Filed under Personal

One response to “Dear North Carolina Voters! {A Heartfelt Plee Against Amendment One.}

  1. Sarajane, I just want you to know that I love you. And, I appreciate these words and your vote AGAINST Amendment One from the bottom of my heart! I am so thankful to have you in my life!

Leave a Reply

