Fall into Love with Maple Almond Spice Cake! {Wedding Tip Tuesday!}

In Waynesville, the leaves are really changing and it is a wedding photographer’s dream!!! It’s made baking this morning a little more fun just to look out the window and see the mountains bathed in color. It’s not typical for me to wake up at 8 and start baking. But, I wanted to share a cake recipe that I adapted for our Fall into Love Wedding theme! Last week we did a place setting for your fall wedding and this week, we’re attempting to bake a delicious cake!

I adapted this recipe from one that I found on Martha Stewart’s website. Hers was a maple, ginger, walnut spice cake. But, I wanted to try my hand at mixing it up a little bit so I switched some things out and made it my own.

I want to preface all of these DIY posts by saying that I am ALWAYS an advocate for hiring a professional if it’s in your budget to do so!!! I’m pretty sure my mishaps in this post will prove to you that it may just be simpler to hire someone else. However, if you can’t, than it’s entirely possible to do this on your own!

Also, I should mention that this is my first time ever making a cake from scratch. So bear with me here. I’m not a baker!

First, gather your ingredients.

Cake Ingredients:

-1 stick {8tbspn} unsalted butter at room temperature

-2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour {plus more for baking pans.}

-Cooking Spray

-2 cups maple syrup

– 3 large eggs

-1 tbspn baking powder

-1/4 tsp salt

-1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

-1 cup milk

-1 tsp vanilla

-1/4 cup sliced almonds

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

2. With an electric mixer, beat the butter until creamy. {I didn’t let my butter warm up so it was kind of strange looking. It’ll work better if your butter is at room temperature.}

3. Add the maple syrup and beat until combined.

4. Add eggs and beat until combined. {Ignore the alien hands cracking that egg.}

5. Meanwhile, while the wet ingredients are mixing. Begin mixing together the dry ingredients in a separate bowl. Make sure to sift the flour!

Add the baking powder, salt, and pumpkin pie spice and mix it into the flour.

***This is what my wet ingredients looked like when i finished. If I’d let my butter warm up it would have been much smoother. Do what I say, not what I do! ha.***

6. Slowly pour the dry ingredients in with the wet ingredients and allow to blend completely.

7. Beat in the milk and vanilla extract until combined.

8. Stir in the 1/4 cup of almonds.

9. Make sure you spray and flour your cake pan before pouring your batter in. {I skipped the flour step this time and it wasn’t pretty.} Also, I’m using a 9×13 pan here. You can use two 9-inch round pans if you have them, I don’t. It would probably make it much prettier if you did.

10. Bake in the oven for 40 minutes. {Turning halfway through so it bakes evenly} When you take it out, LET IT COOL COMPLETELY!

Not letting mine cool completely along with not flouring the bottom of my pan lead to the disaster below. I can just ice over it and pretend like it never happened. But, you don’t want to do that on your wedding day.

**While the cake is cooling, you can begin your icing.***

 

Ingredients:

-6 Egg Yolks

-2 cups maple syrup

-1 lb butter {4 sticks} Chilled and cut into small pieces.

 

Directions:

1. Crack and separate your egg yolks into your electric mixer.

2. Now, put the maple syrup on the stove at med-high heat. Once it comes to a boil, let it cook for 15 minutes.

3. While this is cooking, begin beating your egg yolks on high for 5-7  minutes until light and fluffy!

4. After yolks are done and the syrup is ready, turn mixer down and slowly pour the syrup in a nice steady stream. Make sure that it hits the wall of the bowl so that it doesn’t get caught up in the mixer. {Mine did this some, it was tricky.}

5. Once the syrup is completely incorporated, let the mixture beat until the bowl is slightly warm. About 5-6 minutes.

6. Meanwhile, begin chopping up your butter into small pieces.

7. While the mixer is running, add the butter in one piece at a time. Once it’s all incorporated, your icing is finished! {Make sure to use it immediately.}

 

Now that your cake is baked, and your icing is made-it’s time to put it all together.

Normally, if yours doesn’t fall apart like mine did, you would cut the sheet cake in half. Then ice the top of the first half.

Then stack the second half on top of the first and finish icing all around.

Add your cake topper and wallah!

with love and attempts at baking,

Sarajane.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Wedding Tip Tuesdays

One response to “Fall into Love with Maple Almond Spice Cake! {Wedding Tip Tuesday!}

  1. Fabulous shots, thanks for sharing! You are so creative, I love it! Oh and my mouth was watering, regardless of the imperfections, I think this is definitely one to keep in your cookbook! I love to cook, please post more!

Leave a Reply

