Blue Moon Cupcakes! {Wellness Wednesday!}

Well, I just preface this post with these are not healthy! They are however, made from scratch. Which was my deal with myself. {Remember? I can eat anything I want if when I want something bad for me I make it from scratch.} So, when Kyle found this recipe for Blue Moon Cupcakes on Pinterest. I added it to my recipe list and we tackled it last night. Now, if I’d had the Pioneer Woman’s foresight to take pictures all along than that probably would’ve been helpful. But, I didn’t. However, I did make these {I have very very little experience baking from scratch.} without any pictures, so, I believe you can too! ; )

 

Note: The original recipe makes 24 cupcakes. Because I don’t want 24 cupcakes lying around the house and because we only have a 6 cup muffin pan {I really want a 12 cup but feel silly going to the store to just buy one. ha} I scaled the recipe down for just 6 cupcakes. It worked out fine and that’s what I’m going to give you today.

Here goes:

Ingredients:

3 tbspn unsalted butter, softened

7 tbspn sugar

10 tbspn flour

2/3 tsp baking powder

1/8 tsp salt

1 egg room temperature

1/4 tsp vanilla

1/8 tsp orange zest { I just winged this}

1/4 cup blue moon beer

4 tbspn milk

Frothy White Frosting {recipe below}

 

Directions:

Line cupcake tray with liners. {I didn’t have liners so I used wax paper}

In a medium bowl mix together flour, baking powder, and salt. {set aside}

In a large bowl beat butter on medium speed for 30 sec. Add sugar a little at a time, beating well. Once it’s all added beat for 2 more minutes.

Add egg and beat again.

Add vanilla and orange zest and beat.

Mix beer and milk in measuring cup. Alternatively add beer/milk and flour mixture to butter mixture in the large bowl, beating after each. End on the flour mixture.

Fill the cupcake liners 2/3 way full. Bake for 15 minutes at 375 degrees until cupcakes are golden and a toothpick inserted in the center will come up clean.

Once cool, frost each cupcake with a generous amount of frosting. Just before serving you can garnish with a small orange slice if you like. { I didn’t do that.}

Now, my favorite part about making these was making the frosting. I’ve never made anything like it before and was nervous the entire time. But, it was the best feeling to see it turn out just right. So fun.

{I didn’t do the math to scale this down for 6 cupcakes and ended up with ALOT of extra icing. So, you may want to attempt that yourself. But, I’m too scared to give it to you without having tried it first.}

Ingredients:

2 egg whites, room temperature

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tbsp orange juice

1 cup sugar

1/4 tsp cream of tarter {in the spice section if you, like me, have  no idea was cream of tarter is.}

1/3 cup water

Directions:

In a saucepan, mix sugar, water and cream of tarter. Cook on medium heat until sugar is dissolved and mixture is bubbly. {Then turn to wrm or low}

In a large bowl, beat egg whites, vanilla, and orange juice until soft peaks form. Slowly add hot sugar mixture, beating continuously. Beat for  7 minutes until stiff peaks form.

This is my result. Not super pretty, but absolutely delicious!

with love and cupcakes,

Sarajane.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Wellness Wednesday

2 responses to “Blue Moon Cupcakes! {Wellness Wednesday!}

  1. Yummm! Sounds delicious

  2. Those were so good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

