The Orzo Salad That I Made Up! {Wellness Wednesday}

Ok, I’ve had the real thing before. Orzo salad is one of my favorite things in the entire world. I love vegetables in an unnatural way. On top of that I am basically OBSESSED with balsamic vinegar. So, it’s difficult to mess that up for me. However, in my attempt to make one the other week, I messed it up. I just couldn’t get the proportion of olive oil and vinegar correct. I ate it, but, I didn’t love it. Orzo salad is something that I should LOVE and have loved in the past. So, yesterday when it was time for lunch and all I had was orzo and lots and lots of veggies {someone needs to go grocery shopping *ahem*} I decided to give it a shot again. This time I didn’t follow any recipes, I just made it up as I went along. This, turned out much much better for me than my other attempt. So, I thought I’d share the results with all of you for a little wellness wednesday recipe.

*Note: I didn’t measure anything when I made it, so, all of the measurements are complete guesses. sorry.*

Sarajane’s Orzo Salad Extraordinaire. 

Ingredients:

1 cup orzo pasta

1/4 of a red onion chopped

1 cup spinach {fresh or frozen}

2 cloves garlic chopped

shrimp {not necessary, just had some in the freezer}

1/4 cup feta cheese

1/8 cup fresh tomato chopped

1/4 cucumber chopped

2 tbsp pesto

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp. lime juice

{basically, you can add any veggies you want, these are just what I had at the house. I would recommend adding artichoke hearts if you have them, or olives if you like them, which I don’t.}

Directions:

Boil the orzo until cooked to your liking.

Meanwhile, pour the olive oil in a pan and begin to cook the garlic. Let garlic cook until it becomes fragrant, then add shrimp. Cook until pink.

Then add the spinach. {I cooked the spinach because I had some frozen from the last time I bought it. However, you can skip this step and add it fresh if you’d like.}

Cook spinach until cooked through.

Chop all of your veggies and combine them in a bowl with the shrimp, spinach and feta.

After the orzo is finished drain and add it to the veggie mixture.

Add the pesto and toss well.

Finish off with the lime juice.

It’s so easy it’s embarrassing! But, enjoy!

 

I planned on taking a picture of the salad for you, however, I ended up working in a coffee shop in asheville last minute. So, instead, here is a photo from our trip to Paris. Because, today, I’m missing France.

with love and orzo salad,

Sarajane.

Leave a comment

Filed under Wellness Wednesday

Leave a Reply

