Our trip to Puerto Rico.

We are in Mayaguez, PR visiting Kyle’s brother Tyler until Monday. He’s been near here in Cabo Rojo working on a farm for a few months. The trip here was a long one and an interesting one. We started in Charlotte, NC and flew out at 9:50am. We arrived in San Juan, PR at 2:20pm. We did not get a boarding pass for our next flight and our pilot announced that everyone go get their checked luggage from baggage claim. So, we made our way to baggage claim all the while thinking, maybe we don’t have to do this, we don’t usually have to do this if we don’t  go through customs. But, our pilot said everyone and we don’t have a boarding pass so maybe that’s the reason. We waited at baggage claim with the hundreds of people from our flight, all equally dissatisfied with the amount of time it took for them to get all of the luggage out. I was standing next to an elderly asian man who would make comments to me every few bags that came out like, “that’s not mine, I guess they don’t care about us,” or, “all of my friends have their bags, what is it with you and I that it’s taking so long?” We had formed a bit of a bond over our scorned luggage that had been pushed to the back of the pile. Until we were the last two waiting. The last bag came from the shoot and it was his. He looked at me and said, “Sorry, but, I’ve got to go.” with a chuckle and walked away.

It was just me and Kyle and we were beginning to think we just wasted an hour. So, I asked someone who worked there and they informed me that we did indeed waste an hour. We didn’t have a boarding pass because we were supposed to go back through check-in and security. So, we went back through check-in where they weighed all of our carry on bags and asked us each how much we weigh. Which was really strange to me, but, whatever. Then we went through security and quickly realized they had the knew fancy, creepy scanners that can see through your clothes. Me and Kyle both decided what we would do if we had to experience them, he chose to walk through and I chose to get a pat down. They both took about 15 minutes and the pat down wasn’t that bad. Nothing compared to the India airport type search I was expecting.

We arrived at our gate and looked out the window to see the tiniest plane I’ve ever seen in my life. Our flight from San Juan to Mayaguez was a half hour in a plane that only fit six passengers! At first I was a little nervous, but, I sat directly behind the pilot and he was really nice to us beforehand and the flight was really smooth. It was by far one of the most beautiful experiences of my life. Flying over this beautiful island, I thought to myself, “is this really my life?” Yes, yes it is. I don’t know how on earth we got so lucky, but, I’m glad we did. Here are just a few photos from our flight to Mayaguez.

I was at 28mm for this shot! For those who aren’t photographers, I wasn’t zoomed in at all. He was really that close!!! He elbowed me at one point.

Coming down to the runway!

Our little baby plane!

with love and what felt like a scene out of LOST,

Sarajane.

2 Comments

Filed under Travel

2 responses to “Our trip to Puerto Rico.

  1. Pingback: Workspace in Mayaguez, PR! | Sarajane Case Photography

  2. Katie Bryant Jones

    I really enjoy reading your blog from time to time! Just wanted to let you know the pilot/small plane pictures are awesome. Hope you are doing well. Katie

Leave a Reply

